Directors - Officers


In accordance with the by-laws of Dakota 911 Conference, Inc, the board of directors shall consist of not less than three nor more than 25 persons, all of whom shall be of lawful age. The board meets at least annualy and in special session when circumstances dictate. At the annual meeting the board directors select both a Chaiman of the Board and Officers of the corporation to serve for 1-year terms of office.



In accordance with South Dakota state law and the by-laws of Dakota 911 Conference, Inc, the board shall elect the officers of the corporation as follows: a president, a vice president, a secretary, a treasurer, and such other officers with such titles and with such powers and duties as may be deemed necessary by the board of directors. The officers must be directors of the corporation.



Duties of Directors and Officers are specified in the by-laws of Dakota 911 Conference, Inc.  Those duties comply with the requirements of South Dakota law and are normal for the expectations engendered by the titles.


Professional Support

The Dakota 911 Conference, Inc. has deemed it prudent to retain association with and services of professionals outside the corporation.  Though not part of the corporation, their expertise is on-call and bounded by their profession, the corporation's policies, and specific project/task agreements.  Current professional positions associated with Dakota 911 Conference, Inc. are the; Corporate Accountant, Corporate Attorney, and Corporate Advisor.




  Ted Rufledt, Jr. 

A founding director, Ted Rufledt, Jr., has been with Pennington County 9-1-1 in Rapid City, SD since May 1990. During his tenure he has served as a 9-1-1 dispatcher, Rural Addressing Coordinator, E9-1-1 Project Manager, PSAP Consolidation Manager, and Acting Director. He is currently the Deputy Director. In 2003, Mr. Rufledt became the first National Emergency Number Association (NENA) Emergency Number Professional (ENP) from South Dakota.

Mr. Rufledt has helped organize and manage several 9-1-1 conferences in South Dakota.

Mr. Rufledt served as President of the Dakota Chapter of NENA from 2003 to 2004 and has been serving his second term since 2007. Mr. Rufledt served two terms (2004 and 2006) as President of the South Dakota Chapter of the Association of Public Safety Communications Officials, International (APCO).

In 2007, South Dakota Governor M. Michael Rounds appointed Mr. Rufledt to the State 9-1-1 Coordination Board. He was elected to serve as Board Chairman at their first meeting. In 2010, he was reappointed by Governor Rounds to a second three year term and was re-elected to a second term as Board Chairman.

Mr. Rufledt is married with two daughters and one grandchild. He enjoys spending time with family and friends, big game hunting, boating, and playing tournament poker.


  Tom Sandvick


A well-known public safety communications figure of Lawrence County, SD; Mr. Sandvick has decided to compose his biography during a fishing trip...depending on his luck ;-)


  Leslie Janzen


Another founding director, Mrs. Janzen has been with Pennington County 9-1-1 in Rapid City, SD since May 1993.  During her tenure she has served as; 9-1-1 Dispatcher from 1993 to 1995, Assistant Shift Supervisor from 1995 to 1996, and the Training Supervisor from 1996 to present.

Active in advancing the public communications profession, Mrs. Janzen has been a member of the SD Chapter of APCO since 1996, is a Past Secretary/Treasurer of that association, and has been an instructor for the SD Law Enforcement Training Center since 1999.

  Mary Shoemaker


The final founding director, Miss Shoemaker has been in public service field for 16.5yrs, on both sides of the radio. Serving with Pennington County 9-1-1 in Rapid City, SD since September 1998, she is currently a Shift Supervisor with that center.


Also active in advancing the public communications profession, Miss Shoemaker has been the Secretary/Treasurer of SD APCO since 2000.


  Mark Mills


Lieutenant Commander Mills is a native of Huron, South Dakota. He entered the United States Navy as an Ensign via the Navy Reserve Officer Training Corps at Iowa State University of Science and Technology in 1975 and served in various positions until retiring 1995.

Following his retirement from the Navy, Mr. Mills continued serving the country as Director of Communications for Brown County, South Dakota from November 1995 through September 2000. As Director he ensured Brown County residents received effective Public Safety services through county-wide "E911" and Emergency Dispatch communications from the Brown County Regional Communications Center located in Aberdeen, South Dakota.

Concurrently, Mr. Mills was active in state and national public safety communications as; President of the South Dakota Chapter of APCO (Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials) and National Executive Council member of APCO International from May 1998 to September 2000; Member of the South Dakota Communications Training Committee which developed standards, curricula, and certification for South Dakota 911 Telecommunicators; Instructor and curriculum developer of the Ethics portion of the 911 Telecommunicators curricula, and Member of the South Dakota 911 Coordinated Statewide System Task Force which developed state-wide Public Safety Answering Point standards.

Though now retired, Mr. Mills stays active in a wide range of government and private activities through his personal business, Wild Turkey Enterprises, located in the Black Hills of South Dakota near the City of Custer.


The above professionals compose the Board of Directors and the Officers of Dakota 911 Conference, Inc. as well as the corporation's professional support.  Their positions are listed in the below table.


Directors - Officers — List page from Classic Sites